Highland Young Musician 2023

2023 winner: Megan Fisher (clarinet)

2023 competitors & judges: (l to r) Angela Nankivell (piano); Jamir karnphan (viola); Violet Matheson (piano - runner-up); Megan Fisher (clarinet - winner).

Megan went on to perform very well as the Highland representative at the Scottish Young Musician competition in RCS, Glasgow.


Highland Young Musician 2018

2018 finalists (L to R): Ruairidh Jones (saxophone); Jonathan Mackay (violin); William Hodi (piano); Jamie Philip (trombone); Kirstie Ritchie (french horn).

2018 winner: William Hodi (piano)

William (2018 winner) and Rhona Mackintosh (2017 winner who performed whilst judges made their decisions)


Highland Young Musician 2017

Rhona Mackintosh, violin - Highland Young Musician of the Year 2017

WINNER 2017: Rhona Mackintosh, violin

RUNNER-UP: Sophie Cushnie (L of pic)

MOST PROMISING TALENT: Sandy Scott-Brown (R of pic)

2017 competitors and judges

2017 - all competitors: (L to R)(f denotes finalist)

Catherine Mackay (viola); Jonathan Mackay (violin)(f); Saffron Wittka-Jezewski (piano); Sophie Cushnie (violin)(f); Rhona Mackintosh (violin)(f); Sandy Scott-Brown (cello)(f); Jemimah Morris (saxophone)(f); Caera Douglas (flute)(f); Rosie Morris (trumpet). 


Highland Young Musician 2016

Antony Hook, tuba - Highland Young Musician of the Year 2016











Highland Young Musician 2015

Abigail Millar-Todd, harp - Highland Young Musician of the Year 2015

Winner: Abigail Millar-Todd harp

Runner-up: Zoe Hodi, violin

Most Promising Talent: Hattie McGregor, cello


2015 finalists (l-r): Hattie McGregor; Lewis Clarkson; Abigail Millar-Todd; Zoe Hodi; Adam Forsythe; Amber-Rose Ness




Highland Young Musician 2014

susannah mack, violin - highland young musicians of the year 2014

Susannah Mack,violin - Highland Young Musician of the Year 2014


Highland Young Musician 2013

Pianist Molly McGregor - Highland Young Musician of the Year 2013.


left: Belinda Gordon (runner up)

right: Finn Smith (most promising talent)




judges and winners, as Findlay Spence (2012 winner) presents Molly with the trophy 




Highland Young Musician 2012

Findlay Spence - Fortrose Academy

 Findlay with the Richardson Trophy for Musical Excellence, with Rebecca Amphlett (Grantown Grammar), runner-up and Bruce Foster (Dingwall Academy), most promising talent.


  winners & judges





Helena (2011 winner) presents the trophy




Highland Young Musician 2011

     Helena Rose,

Lochaber High School







2011 Finalists (l to r): Hector Waudby-West (runner up); Helena Rose (winner); Laura Keen (most promising talent)



Winners & Judges 2011




Emma Donald (2010 winner) presents the trophy to Helena Rose


Highland Young Musician 2010

After a weekend of intensive rehearsals and performance, five of Highland’s most talented young musicians took part in the annual Highland Young Musician of the Year competition.  The judge’s decision awarded violinist Emma Donald from Dingwall Academy the top prize and Richardson Trophy for Musical Excellence with Millburn Academy’s Hector Waudby-West being placed as runner-up for his performance on the double bass.  The ‘Most Promising Talent’ award was given to Peter Thornton, a trombone playing pupil also from Dingwall Academy.


Highland Young Musician 2009

2009 prizewinners:

Winner: David Buhl (Charleston Academy) - cello

Runner-up: Erica Sinclair (Thurso High School) - clarinet

Most Promising Talent: Hector Waudby-West (Millburn Academy) - double bass


 2009 Finalists: (l to r)

Erica Sinclair; Hector Waudby-West; Alister More; Graham Mackenzie; Duncan Bolton; David Buhl (seated)



 2009 entrants:

Back row (l to r): Shona Berque; Erica; Hector; Alister; Graham; Duncan

Front row (l to r): Emma Donald; Beth O'Connell; David; Peter Thornton; Bethany King

Each year as the Richardson Trophy for Musical Excellence is passed on to the new winner, an engraved quaich is presented for the previous years winner to keep. The Friends of Highland Young Musicans generously donate the quaich.

Inaugural competition finalists - 2006

Winner: Graham Mackenzie

Click for Map

News Headlines

Supported by
Haydock Music
High Life Highland
The Music Shop
sitemap | cookie policy | privacy policy | accessibility statement