Cog Icon signifying link to Admin page

Highland Young Musicians


Helena Rose,

Lochaber High School







2011 Finalists (l to r): Hector Waudby-West (runner up); Helena Rose (winner); Laura Keen (most promising talent)



Winners & Judges 2011




Emma Donald (2010 winner) presents the trophy to Helena Rose


Highland Young Musician 2010

After a weekend of intensive rehearsals and performance, five of Highland’s most talented young musicians took part in the annual Highland Young Musician of the Year competition.  The judge’s decision awarded violinist Emma Donald from Dingwall Academy the top prize and Richardson Trophy for Musical Excellence with Millburn Academy’s Hector Waudby-West being placed as runner-up for his performance on the double bass.  The ‘Most Promising Talent’ award was given to Peter Thornton, a trombone playing pupil also from Dingwall Academy.


Highland Young Musician 2009

2009 prizewinners:

Winner: David Buhl (Charleston Academy) - cello

Runner-up: Erica Sinclair (Thurso High School) - clarinet

Most Promising Talent: Hector Waudby-West (Millburn Academy) - double bass


 2009 Finalists: (l to r)

Erica Sinclair; Hector Waudby-West; Alister More; Graham Mackenzie; Duncan Bolton; David Buhl (seated)



 2009 entrants:

Back row (l to r): Shona Berque; Erica; Hector; Alister; Graham; Duncan

Front row (l to r): Emma Donald; Beth O'Connell; David; Peter Thornton; Bethany King

Each year as the Richardson Trophy for Musical Excellence is passed on to the new winner, an engraved quaich is presented for the previous years winner to keep. The Friends of Highland Young Musicans generously donate the quaich.